

Gavi Alliance Governance Committee Meeting 25 June 2023 Geneva Marriott Hotel, Geneva, Switzerland

1. Chair's report

- 1.1 Noting that the meeting had been duly convened and finding a quorum of members present, the meeting commenced at 17.31 Geneva time on 25 June 2023. Ms Sarah Goulding, Board Vice Chair and Governance Committee Chair, chaired the meeting.
- 1.2 All other formalities were dispensed with in light of this being a meeting to follow on from the meeting of this Committee on 22 June 2023.

2. Request for waiver to Independent Review Committee Terms of Reference

2.1 Joanne Goetz, Head, Governance, presented this item (Doc 09 to 22 June 2023 Governance Committee meeting) which requested that the Governance Committee consider a waiver to the Independent Review Committee (IRC) Terms of Reference to pilot an "opt-in" model of IRC review for low risk and low value applications.

Discussion

• In response to comments from Governance Committee members in relation to other recommendations arising from the evaluation of the IRC the Secretariat noted that these will be coming to the Programme and Policy Committee and, if relevant, to the Governance Committee later in the year.

Decision One

Recognising the importance of implementing the recommendations of the independent evaluation of Gavi's Independent Review Committee, which include the recommendation for a differentiated IRC review process, the Gavi Governance Committee **recommended** to the Gavi Alliance Board that it:

<u>Approve</u> waiving the requirement for an independent review, as outlined in the Independent Review Committee Terms of Reference, for up to five country applications of low risk and low value in 2023.



3. Board and Committee nominations

- 3.1 Joanne Goetz, Head, Governance, presented this item (Doc 08 to 22 June 2023 Governance Committee meeting) which requested that the Governance Committee consider nominations to the Board and its Committees.
- 3.2 She noted that the biennial refresh process of the Board Committees will be launched in July 2023 and also noted that the EAC had, in order to recruit a small number of new members, suggested that an open call refresh process be launched.

Decision Two

The Gavi Alliance Governance Committee **<u>recommended</u>** to the Gavi Alliance Board that it:

- a) <u>Appoint</u> Sai Prasad as Board Member representing the vaccine industry developing countries in the seat currently held by Mahima Datla effective 1 July 2023 and until 30 June 2026
- b) <u>Reappoint</u> Beth Arthy as Board Member representing the United Kingdom on the donor constituency cluster anchored by the United Kingdom, effective 1 September 2023 and until 31 August 2024
- c) **<u>Reappoint</u>** the following to the Market-Sensitive Decisions Committee and to the Programme and Policy Committee effective immediately:
 - Beth Arthy (Board Member) until 31 December 2023
- d) **Appoint** the following to the Governance Committee effective 1 July 2023:
 - Sai Prasad (Board Member) until 31 December 2023
- e) Appoint the following to the Audit and Finance Committee effective 1 July 2023:
 - Deena Shiff (Board Member) until 31 December 2023
- f) Appoint the following to the Investment Committee effective 1 July 2023:
 - Sai Prasad (Board Member) until 31 December 2023
 - Teresa Ressel (Board Member) until 31 December 2023

4. Board Travel Policy

4.1 Joanne Goetz, Head, Governance, presented this item (Doc 07 to 22 June 2023 Governance Committee meeting) which requested that the Governance





Committee consider amendments to the Board Travel Policy and recommend an updated policy to the Board for approval.

Decision Three

The Gavi Alliance Governance Committee **recommended** to the Gavi Alliance Board that it:

<u>Approve</u> the Board Travel Policy attached as Annex A to Doc 07 to the 22 June 2023 Governance Committee meeting.

5. Review of Decisions

5.1 Joanne Goetz, Head, Governance, reviewed the decision language with the Committee which was approved by them.

6. Any other business

6.1 After determining there was no further business, the meeting was brought to a close.

Mrs Joanne Goetz Secretary to the Meeting



Attachment A: Participants

Committee Members

- Sarah Goulding, Chair
- Joan Benson
- Aamer Ikram
- Violaine Mitchell
- Kate O'Brien
- John Arne Rottingen
- Teresa Ressel
- Deena Shiff

Regrets

- Takeshi Akahori
- Jérémie Forrat-Jaime
- Tamar Gabunia
- Rafael Vilasanjuan
- Seth Berkley

Other Board members attending

• Rhoda Wanyenze

Secretariat

- Joanne Goetz
- Brenda Killen
- Marie Rochat