

GAVI Alliance Governance Committee Meeting

23 March 2011 Teleconference

FINAL MINUTES

1. Chair's report

Finding a quorum of members present, the meeting commenced at 17.02 Geneva time on 23 March 2011. Dagfinn Høybråten, Governance Committee Chair chaired the meeting.

Standing declarations of interest were tabled to the Committee (Doc #1a in the Committee pack). Next the Committee reviewed the minutes of its meeting on 29 November 2010 (Doc #1b). Finally, the Committee reviewed its forward workplan (Doc #1c). The Chair thanked the Secretariat for assisting the Committee with its advance planning.

Decision One

The GAVI Alliance Governance Committee moved to:

• Approve the minutes of its meeting on 29 November 2010.

2. Nominations

Debbie Adams, Managing Director, Law and Governance reported that the industrialised and developing country vaccine industry constituencies had submitted Ronald Brus, CEO of Crucell and Mahima Datla, Senior Vice President of Biological E. to be their respective Board members (Doc #2). In addition, she presented candidates to serve as alternate Board members and committee members. Finally, Ms Adams reported that the Board's next opportunity to make appointments was in July 2011.

- The Board continues to move toward compliance with its gender guidelines, though it is doing so slowly.
- The By-Laws state that a representative Board member shall continue to serve until a replacement is appointed by the Board. This provision allows representative Board members to serve past the end of their terms until the Board is able to make the formal appointment of their successors.

Gov-2011-Mtg-2

Decision Two

The GAVI Alliance Governance Committee moved to:

- **Nominate** the following persons to the Board:
 - Ronald Brus as Board Member representing the industrialised country vaccine industry in the seat currently occupied by Jean Stéphenne effective immediately and until 31 July 2014
 - Olga Popova as Alternate Board Member representing the industrialised country vaccine industry in the seat currently occupied by Sian Clayden effective immediately and until 31 July 2014
 - Mahima Datla as Board Member representing the developing country vaccine industry in the seat currently occupied by Suresh Jadhav effective immediately and until 31 July 2014.
- Nominate the following persons to their respective committees:
 - Suresh Jadhav as Committee Delegate of the developing country vaccine industry to the Programme and Policy Committee effective immediately and until the committees are refreshed for the 2012 year.
 - Klaus Stohr as Committee Delegate of the industrialised country vaccine industry to the Programme and Policy Committee in the seat currently held by Olga Popova effective immediately and until the committees are refreshed for the 2012 year
 - Natalia Antsilevich as Committee Delegate of the World Bank to the Audit and Finance Committee in the seat currently held by David Crush effective immediately and until the committees are refreshed for the 2012 year
 - Rob Moodie as an independent member of the Evaluation Advisory Committee effective immediately and until his successor is elected and qualified
 - Mira Johri as an independent member of the Evaluation Advisory Committee effective immediately and until her successor is elected and qualified
 - Stanley Foster to be reclassified as an independent member of the Evaluation Advisory Committee effective immediately and until his successor is elected and qualified.

There being no further business, the meeting was brought to a close.

Ms Debbie Adams Secretary to the Board

Gov-2011-Mtg-2 2

Attachment A

Participants

Committee Members

- Dagfinn Høybråten, Chair
- Amie Batson
- Sian Clayden
- Alan Hinman
- George W. Wellde, Jr

Regrets

- Jaime Sepulveda, Vice Chair Richard Sezibera
- Pascal Villeneuve
- Helen Evans (non-voting)

Secretariat

- Debbie Adams
- Kevin A. Klock

3 Gov-2011-Mtg-2