



SUBJECT: CONSENT AGENDA REVISED AT 25 NOVEMBER 2019

Agenda item: 01e

Category: For Decision

Section A: Introduction

Five recommendations are being presented to the Board under the Consent Agenda for consideration. Detailed information on each of the items can be found in the relevant Committee paper in a dedicated folder on BoardEffect at:

https://gavi.boardeffect.co.uk/workrooms/6459/resources/24636

Section B: Actions requested of the Board

The Gavi Alliance Board is requested to consider the following recommendations from the Gavi Alliance Governance Committee and Programme and Policy Committee.

Decision One - Sudan's eligibility for Gavi support in 2020

The Gavi Alliance Programme and Policy Committee <u>recommended</u> to the Gavi Alliance Board that it:

<u>Approve</u>, exceptionally, that the determination of Sudan's eligibility for 2020 will be based on the latest GNI data point instead of the average GNI per capita over the past three years.

Decision Two - Board Vice Chair appointment

Governance Committee recommendation to be shared with the Board after Governance Committee meeting of 3 December 2019.

<u>Decision Three - Board Committee Chair appointments</u>

The Gavi Alliance Governance Committee <u>recommended</u> to the Gavi Alliance Board that it:

- a) **Reappoint** the following as Chair of the Investment Committee:
 - Stephen Zinser until 30 June 2020
- b) **Reappoint** the following as Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee:
 - David Sidwell until 31 December 2020



- c) **Reappoint** the following as Chair of the Programme and Policy Committee:
 - Helen Rees until 31 December 2021

Decision Four – Board and Board Committee member appointments

Further Governance Committee recommendations to be shared with the Board after Governance Committee meeting of 3 December 2019.

The Gavi Alliance Governance Committee <u>recommended</u> to the Gavi Alliance Board:

- a) That it appoint the following Board Members:
 - Maty Dia as Board Member representing the civil society organisationsconstituency in the seat formerly held by Craig Burgess, effective immediately and until 31 December 2021.
 - Jan Paehler as Board Member representing the European Commission on the donor constituency anchored by Germany in the seat currently held by Harriet Ludwig of Germany, effective 1 January 2020 and until 31 December 2020.
 - Roger Conner as Board Member representing the vaccine industry industrialised countries in the seat currently held by Susan Silbermann, effective 1 August 2020 and until 31 July 2023.
- b) That it **reappoint** the following Board Members:
 - **Daniel Graymore** as Board Member representing the United Kingdom on the donor constituency anchored by the United Kingdom, effective 1 January 2020 and until 31 December 2022.
 - Margaret (Peggy) Hamburg as an Unaffiliated Board Member, effective 1 January 2020 and until 31 December 2022.
- c) That it **appoint** the following Alternate Board Members:
 - **Frank Mahoney** as Alternate Board Member representing the civil society organisations constituency in the seat currently held by Maty Dia, effective immediately and until 31 December 2019.
 - An Vermeesch as Alternate Board Member representing the vaccine industry industrialised countries in the seat currently held by Julie Hamra, effective immediately and until 31 July 2023.
 - Joan Valadou as Alternate Board Member representing France on the donor constituency anchored by Germany in the seat currently held by Jan Paehler of the European Commission, effective 1 January 2020 and until 31 December 2020
- d) That it **reappoint** the following Alternate Board Member:
 - **Susan Elden** as Alternate Board member to Daniel Graymore representing the United Kingdom, effective 1 January 2020 and until 31 December 2022.



- e) That it **appoint** the following to the Audit and Finance Committee effective 1 January 2020:
 - David Sidwell (Board Member) until 31 December 2020
 - Teresa Ressel (Board Member) until 31 December 2021
 - Beniamin Carcani (Committee Delegate) until 31 December 2021
 - Etleva Kadilli (Alternate Board Member) until 31 December 2021
 - Kwaku Agyeman-Manu (Board Member) until 31 December 2020
 - Emmanuel Maina Djoulde (Committee Delegate) until 31 December 2021
 - Andreas Karlsberg Pettersen (Committee Delegate) until 31 December 2021
 - Irene Koek (Alternate Board Member) until 30 June 2021
 - Gisella Berardi (Committee Delegate) until 31 December 2021
 - Tom Morrow (Committee Delegate) until 31 December 2021
- f) That it <u>appoint</u> the following to the Investment Committee effective 1 January 2020:
 - Stephen Zinser (Board Member) until 30 June 2020
 - David Sidwell (Board Member) until 31 December 2020
 - Afsaneh Beschloss (Board Member) until 31 December 2021
 - Margaret (Peggy) Hamburg (Board Member) until 31 December 2021
 - Matthias Reinicke (Committee Delegate) until 31 December 2021
 - William Roedy (Board Member) until 31 December 2021
- g) That it **appoint** the following to the Evaluation Advisory Committee effective 1 January 2020:
 - Marta Nunes (Board Member) until 31 December 2020
 - Maty Dia (Board Member) until 31 December 2021
 - Zulfigar A. Bhutta (Independent Expert) until 31 December 2021
 - Jeanine Condo (Independent Expert) until 31 December 2021
 - Juan Pablo Gutierrez (Independent Expert) until 31 December 2021
 - Mira Johri (Independent Expert) until 31 December 2021
 - Ezzedine Mohsni (Independent Expert) until 31 December 2021
 - Viroj Tangscharoensathien (Independent Expert) until 31 December 2021

Decision Five – Independent Review Committee appointments

The Gavi Alliance Governance Committee <u>recommended</u> to the Gavi Alliance Board that it:

Ratify the emergency appointment of 11 IRC members by the Chief Executive Officer in concurrence with the Chair of the Programme and Policy Committee (PPC) under Article 5.1.1 of the By-Laws, whose names are listed in Annex A to Doc 05c, for a term effective 12 August 2019 until 31 March 2022.